The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.

Post subject: PolarView instalation

Dears,

I'm trying to install PolarView on Navigatrix, I download the FILE and followed the instructions (https://polarnavy.wordpress.com/2010/01 ... tructions/).

Lather I added the NOAA charts and everything works. The problem is, when I reboot the system the folder I created and installed the PolarView just disappeared???

The details of the instalation:
- PEN Drive 8GB
- Navigatrix V. 0.5

--Install source file:
/home/nx/Downloads/PolarView-2.0.6.tar.gz

--Scripts to install PolarView:
cd /home/nx
sudo mkdir polarnavy
cd polarnavy
sudo tar -zxf /home/nx/Downloads/PolarView-2.0.6.tar.gz

-- To execute PolarView:
/home/nx/polarnavy/bin/PolarView &

I'm quite new in Linux so I have no idea why this folder is disappeared after restart.

All the best!

Post subject: Re: PolarView instalation

PolarView is already installed. Look at the Menu> Navigation

Name= Instrument Panel
Name[de]=Instumentenanzeige
Name[es]=Panel de Instrumentos
Name[fr]=Tableau d'instuments
Attachment:
poarview.png
poarview.png [ 166.93 KiB | Viewed 24926 times ]
But to answer your other questions.

You might not have a persistence file in the LiveCD version you're running. This persistence file preserves system modifications from one boot to the next.

When Navigatrix boots from the stick there is a blue screen with 4 function keys listed <F1><F2><F3><F4> linked to menu options in various languages.

Select one.

Select "Other Options" in the menu that pops up.

Select Create 1/2/or 4GB Persistence File.

The rule of thumb is

1- 4GB stick
2- 8GB
4- 16GB or larger

When that is grinding away, grab a quick coffee/beer; it takes a few minutes.

The system will boot when it is finished.

Now, modifications made will carry over from one boot to the next.