The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Will this work for permanent setting rate at 4800?

Code:
stty -F /dev/ttyS2 4800 clocal cread cs8 -cstopb -parenb


If I reboot I come back to the default rate.
I use this code to get the info.
Code:
stty -F /dev/ttyS2 -a


I also try it with sudo but it fail to keep the rate after reboot.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Rule #12

make sure it works before you make it permanent.

The gpsd deals with this. We we going down this path because I misunderstood not finding the gps with the gpsd "not finding the gps" rather than the data that comes out is an error.

We need to figure out what driver gpsd is loading that's giving the error and tell it not to use it. Then we need to find the 'right one', then tell the gpsd to use it....then we make things permanent.

Take a breath. Don't jump the gun.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Ok, with the code:
Code:
stty -F /dev/ttyS2 ispeed 4800 && cat </dev/ttyS2

I got some output, what I do now??
Do I connect to internet to update all??
See image name "2016-05-06_084715_1024x768.png"

I run what you ask me before for the gpsd, it all work.
See "gpsd_Info.txt"


Attachments:
gpsd_info.txt [52.43 KiB]
Downloaded 103 times


Last edited by CNC on 06 May 2016, 09:51, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
I just read
Quote:
Before getting a fix, the GPS spits out lots of "$GPTXT,01,01,01,NMEA unknown msg*58", though these stop once a fix is obtained.


Leave it on for a while.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
See it work, you get not far form me, look at the gpsd_Info.txt
it see the uBlox. So what I do now??? :?:


Attachments:
gpsd_info.txt [52.43 KiB]
Downloaded 107 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
I run this code:

Code:
gpsd -D 5 -N -n /dev/ttyS2


And open the GPS Satellites window, it work.
See Image.


Attachments:
GSP_Working1.png
GSP_Working1.png [ 71.76 KiB | Viewed 4234 times ]


Last edited by CNC on 07 May 2016, 10:13, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Code:
sudo dpgk-reconfigure gpsd
Change nothing except this entry

Code:
 ┌───────────────────────────┤ Configuring gpsd ├────────────────────────────┐ 
 │ Please enter the device the GPS receiver is attached to. It will          │ 
 │ probably be something like /dev/ttyS0 or /dev/ttyUSB0.                    │ 
 │                                                                           │ 
 │ Multiple devices may be specified as a space-separated list. Leave empty  │ 
 │ if you don't want to connect gpsd to a device on boot or if you want to   │ 
 │ use device autodetection only.                                            │ 
 │                                                                           │ 
 │ Device the GPS receiver is attached to:                                   │ 
 │                                                                           │ 
 │ /dev/ttyS2_______________________________________________________________ │ 
 │                                                                           │ 
 │                    <Ok>                        <Cancel>                   │ 
See how it works....and possible check your antennae placement


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Hi Moe,

Your code fail, but I understand what you want me to do, so I use the code at the page one of this post.
Code:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure gpsd


After I have run the code I start the GPS Satellites and GPS Panel, they all work. So I close them all and reboot
the computer, open again GPS Satellites and GPS Panel, still working. YESSS we got it working :geek:

See image.

I will go eat and after I want to run the "Software Updater" and test the GPS after.

My GPS antennae is on the UBlox 6 chip, all is on the right back top of the screen, from there it have some small
cable to go to the motherbord.

Thanks a lot for your time and help.
Best Regards my Moe, owe some beers.


Attachments:
GSP_Working2.png
GSP_Working2.png [ 75.25 KiB | Viewed 4234 times ]


Last edited by CNC on 07 May 2016, 10:14, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Hi,

I have run the Software Updater and change the language to my native, the GPS is still working good.
I have load my chartes on the harddrive for OpenCPN and run it.


When it open, I got a error message that tell it is impossible to open the file name "rtlsdr".
When I close the message OpenCPN work and see the GPS all ready.

When I reboot, I got a waiting time delay of 30 sec. to select a Navigatrix Generic. I did not have that
delay before. How could I remove or change the delay time?

The GPS is looking to work always, even if I do not open a software that will need it. Could it work only when a software that need it is running??


Attachments:
OpenCPN01.png
OpenCPN01.png [ 184.55 KiB | Viewed 4234 times ]


Last edited by CNC on 07 May 2016, 10:15, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 03 Jul 2013, 08:30
Posts: 59
Quote:
When it open, I got a error message that tell it is impossible to open the file name "rtlsdr".
When I close the message OpenCPN work and see the GPS all ready.

rtlsdr is a file used when you have a software defined radio installed to decode ais signals. Not significant in this case.
If the error really bugs you, you may find a way to eliminate it for OpenCpn over at the OpenCpn users forum http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f134/

Quote:
When I reboot, I got a waiting time delay of 30 sec. to select a Navigatrix Generic. I did not have that
delay before. How could I remove or change the delay time?
Sorry, don't really understand that one, and probably
beyond my pay grade anyway... Sorry

Quote:
The GPS is looking to work always, even if I do not open a software that will need it. Could it work only when a software that need it is running??

Looking at the unit you have installed, it is hardwired so will look for a lock anytime the laptop is fired up. Looks like it only draws
50-60 milliamps seeking a lock and 40 milliamps after lock. so not a draw to worry about in my opinion

The Other David


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Hi CapCouillon,

For the "rtlsdr", it was a plugin, I have deactive it, it have fix the issue.

Still have a boot delay that I did not have before, the boot was create after I have run the Software Updater.
Before that scren in the image1 was display only 5 seconds now it is display 30 seconds.
Where is the setting file to change the boot delay??

See image 1

Off topic, what is the image size to load here for the forum, I notice that my images are to big?? I will have to resize them and load them again.


Attachments:
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg [ 25.21 KiB | Viewed 4234 times ]


Last edited by CNC on 07 May 2016, 10:15, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 03 Jul 2013, 08:30
Posts: 59
Keep your screen shots at about a width of 425 or so and you will be fine

The default delay of 30 sec is there to allow you time to make a choice if you want to boot into another mode. If the default startup is good,
just hit enter when the screen comes up and away you go.... No need to wait.

As usual, you can change the delay, but rule #3 says "don't fix something that works"


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Both Davids are right. If it's not broke, don't fix it. This applies to upgrades as well.

GRand Unified Bootloader (GRUB) is the bit of code that tells the machine where the bits and pieces to 'boot into' are located. It also gives the human at the keyboard a chance to interact and possible select other options...and configured properly is an amazing tool which allows booting anything that is boot-able.

The downside is if it is badly configured, without special knowledge, you may not get past a black screen, a blinking cursor, and a few confusing letters.

A simple configuration of GRUB looks like
Quote:
# If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
# /boot/grub/grub.cfg.
# For full documentation of the options in this file, see:
# info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'

GRUB_DEFAULT=saved
GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT=true
#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=10
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=3
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -d -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
GRUB_DISABLE_SUBMENU=true
GRUB_ENABLE_SUBMENU=false

# Uncomment to enable BadRAM filtering, modify to suit your needs
# This works with Linux (no patch required) and with any kernel that obtains
# the memory map information from GRUB (GNU Mach, kernel of FreeBSD ...)
#GRUB_BADRAM="0x01234567,0xfefefefe,0x89abcdef,0xefefefef"

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
#GRUB_TERMINAL=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
#GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

# Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true"

# Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
Most of the information is # comments, and/or commented out #instructions that are ignored.

The amount of comments is a indicator that what you are looking at, though possibly simple, can go horribly wrong if not done right. They include directions for further instructions
Code:
 info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'
enter it into a terminal if you are brave enough for a 'Simple configuration' and want a hint, or specific instruction how to modify it.

If you still want to play with fire, edit the file
Code:
sudo nano /etc/default/grub
or
Code:
gksu medit /etc/dfault/grub
for a 'friendlier' text editor.

You could change
Quote:
GRUB_TIMEOUT=3
to any number (-1 to forever) and then, like the instructions say
Code:
sudo update-grub
to implement the changes that may make you happy, or may give you a 3 hour surprise project that makes the 30 second delay seem a tolerable blink of the eye.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Hi Moe,

State=A;
I have reinstall Navigatrix and set the GPS to work only, now it take me only 20 minutes to do that. I did not run the Software Updater. Now it have only one partition line and a memory test on the GRUB splash screen and it display for 30 seconds.

State=B;
Some history, before my Toughbook was running on Navigatrix with Software Updater done, to get the new version of OpenCPN 4.2.0. and all other update. All was working good, in the GRUB splash screen I could see 4 or 5 partitions lines and the screen display for only 3 seconds.

Now why I have a 30seconds delay and not 3 seconds like StateB?
If I check the code of file "grud.cfg".
Code:
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ] ; then
  set timeout=30
else
  if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
    set timeout_style=menu
    set timeout=3
  # Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
  # unavailable.
  else
    set timeout=3
  fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

If "recordfail = 1", it will give me a 30 seconds delay. Now if I check the file "grubenv", I see recordfail=1.

So to fix this 30 seconds delai I need to find what is the recordfail.

Rule #1 = fix bugs before using at sea, remember no internet help at sea.


Attachments:
GrubFiles.rar [1.89 KiB]
Downloaded 111 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
It's hard telling what happened when you 'updated', or when this change occurred. I have to guess, after a blind update, and a reboot, because something modified your GRUB, but it wasn't a new version of OpenCPN.

Unfortunately, I don't have the mental capacity in this area to figure out why someone else's advice isn't working...my only advice is if it's not working, don't do it and revert the changes.

You can spend 3 hours chasing a problem only to realise sometime before you uncommented a line that sent you on this goose chase...or worse, never remember what the change was, and it will never work with the change.

If my suggestion of changing the GRUB_TIMEOUT to something else didn't work, we can look at other solutions.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 22:21
Posts: 18
Hi Moe,

My Toughbook is at StateA, I did not change the GRUB_TIMEOUT.
What I did is to install the last Version: 0.5 (Août 2015) from my USB key and have select erase the harddrive before install.
And run some stty code to setup the GPS.

So new device GPS and stty code run, are new things. No update was done.

My Grub 30 seconds delay come from the read of the grubenv file.
I have to find what have write a recordfail value of 1.
If I force the delay time with GRUB_TIMEOUT, that will not fix the recordfail. The fail issue will still be there.

What are the test that are run to write the grubenv file?
Where are those test file locate?
Could I run those test one by one and get a output to find what is failling?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Quote:
My Grub 30 seconds delay come from the read of the grubenv file.
If you know this then you will also know
Quote:
GRUB2 comes with a feature that, after a failed boot attempt, during the next boot will automatically stop at the boot menu.
Ok, it's my understanding the long delay come after, and from, a failed boot. The cause of the failure is unknown. It might have been something in the update. It might be the human keeps interrupting it. We can't tell. Until that fault has been corrected it will probably continue in that loop, unless you gut the recordfail mechanism. There is no reason for that.

It might be as simple as using your up/down keys and selecting a different listing in the GRUB menu, or reverting to the original listing, and allowing a successful boot to take place. Remember the the boot after the failed boot will pause, so that's two successful boots to confirm if you've 'fixed' the boot problem. It goes on to say
Quote:
This may be undesirable in certain circumstances.
That is to say, the stopping at the boot menu is undesirable sometimes, and messing with these files is good sometimes.

I just don't know if it's one of those times.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
It sometime helps to visually *see* what is going on to see what is going on.

This GRUB Customizer takes some of the hocus pocus out of the process.
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
Code:
sudo apt-get update
Code:
sudo apt-get install grub-customizer
and call it with
Code:
sudo grub-customizer
or Menu> System Tools> Grub Customizer.

Like all things, you can fix it, even make it pretty, or make if inoperable, depending on your choices.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 14 Dec 2016, 17:14
Posts: 2
Hello
fresh install apt-get update..

i cant get the gps to work..Navibe GM270.
i have done lsusb found gps as, Bus 002 Device 003: ID 067b:2303
Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port

dmesg.
[ 20.316338] pps pps0: new PPS source usbserial0
[ 20.316348] pps pps0: source "/dev/ttyUSB0" added
[ 23.393339] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process ended, respawning
[ 23.401470] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process (1721) terminated with status 1
[ 23.401488] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process ended, respawning
[ 26.005932] init: plymouth-stop pre-start process (1989) terminated with status 1
[ 45.247288] audit_printk_skb: 129 callbacks suppressed
[ 45.247293] audit: type=1400 audit(1481908629.563:55): apparmor="STATUS"
operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/cups/backend/cups-pdf" pid=2599 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 45.247301] audit: type=1400 audit(1481908629.563:56): apparmor="STATUS"
operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/sbin/cupsd" pid=2599 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 45.247785] audit: type=1400 audit(1481908629.563:57): apparmor="STATUS"
operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/sbin/cupsd" pid=2599 comm="apparmor_parser"

unplug gps

[ 45.247293] audit: type=1400 audit(1481908629.563:55): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/cups/backend/cups-pdf" pid=2599 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 45.247301] audit: type=1400 audit(1481908629.563:56): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/sbin/cupsd" pid=2599 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 45.247785] audit: type=1400 audit(1481908629.563:57): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/sbin/cupsd" pid=2599 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 994.296248] pl2303 ttyUSB0: usb_serial_generic_read_bulk_callback - urb stopped: -32
[ 994.296538] pl2303 ttyUSB0: usb_serial_generic_read_bulk_callback - urb stopped: -32
[ 994.463462] usb 2-1.1: USB disconnect, device number 3
[ 994.465519] pps pps0: removed
[ 994.465825] pl2303 ttyUSB0: pl2303_set_control_lines - failed: -19
[ 994.466034] pl2303 ttyUSB0: pl2303 converter now disconnected from ttyUSB0
[ 994.466067] pl2303 2-1.1:1.0: device disconnected

dpkg-reconfigure gpsd.
changed to ttyusb0 at the Device the gps is attached to ,window

This command opens a empty new file .
sudo gedit /lib/udev/rules.d/60-gpsd.rules

nmea output from cpt shows only GPSD:localhost:2947

anyone have an idea of what i can try next ?


Attachments:
2016-12-16_125557_1366x768.png
2016-12-16_125557_1366x768.png [ 223.77 KiB | Viewed 2902 times ]
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working with Navigatrix

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
I think you're working too hard and may have undone a setup that would have worked.

This makes my head hurt as it then becomes complicated. Does the gps not work because of an initial system incompatibility, your modifications, or did the Fresh Install contribute to this little delight?

The gps is fairly stock and the Prolific PL2303, is prolific and in most converters..something like 80% use that chip.

What I'd need to know is if it worked out of the box. Depending on the type of "not working' there are some clues to why.

The standard way it doesn't work out of the box is the cool start of a gps. All batteries die, even the new ones in the expensive models, and with them the memory.

A triangulated lock might require a new almanac, by this time (yes, it can be forever) the settings in OpenCPN will have been changed to get it to work...but actual creates a conflict with gpsd. This not a good thing, and we forget.

The gpsd is the application that takes care of your gps needs, and is best to 'just like it' and leave it alone to save aggravation. Having something else touch the gps, like in the screenshot of OpenCPN, is just going to make it mad and cause you problems, among them, baldness, insanity, or death. None of them avoidable, just avoidable from this cause.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Search for:
cron

Credits © 2010 - 2022