Navigatrix.net - A Voyager's Companion
http://navigatrix.net/

Multiple monitors
http://navigatrix.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=536
Page 1 of 1

Author:  rodec [ 17 Oct 2013, 15:41 ]
Post subject:  Multiple monitors

Hi fellow sailors :-)

Can someone explain to me how i can setup extended desktop.

In monitor settings i can only choose internal, external or clone mode.


best regards

Kenny (DK)

Author:  Moe [ 17 Oct 2013, 21:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple monitors

Try this:

medit ~/.screenlayout/single.sh and paste in:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --off
lxpanelctl restart
Save, exit. Make it executable:chmod +x ~/.screenlayout/single.sh

Open another blank file with medit ~/.screenlayout/dual.sh and add:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 1024x0 --rotate normal
lxpanelctl restart
Save, exit. Make it executable:chmod +x ~/.screenlayout/dual.sh

If the output, mode, and start position don't suit you change them to something that will.

More information about your monitor capabilities are lurking behind xrandr --prop

Open up arandr from the terminal. You will be able to select your configuration.

Add keysroke switching open: medit ~/.config/openbox/navigatrix-rc.xml to keep order for humans scroll down to lines 175- 178

You will see:
Code:
  </dock>
  <keyboard>
    <chainQuitKey>C-g</chainQuitKey>
    <!-- Keybindings for desktop switching -->
Before<keybind key="C-A-Left"> (The next line.) Paste in:
Code:
   <keybind key="W-2">
   <action name="Execute">
   <command>sh ~/.screenlayout/dual.sh</command>
        </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-1">
    <action name="Execute">
    <command>sh ~/.screenlayout/single.sh</command>
        </action>
    </keybind>
(This should be the right formatting.)Save and exit. Next time you log in you can switch with the keystroke combination of <Window><1> and <Window><2>

Good luck.

Author:  Moe [ 22 Oct 2013, 01:29 ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple monitors

Oh, I think you'll want to change your mouse configuration to seamlessly move from from one monitor to the other.

Preferences> Configuration Manager> Mouse...I'm not exactly sure what needs to be done.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/