The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.

Post subject: driver install for wifi antenna

Hi, I am new to nz, new to Linux aswell though been considering it for some years. Professional Mac OS user for 20+ years a damping factor...

Anyway, I've got it all up and running and am happy with it.

The sole problem is: I have a SINMAX wifi-antenna mod: S1-5000 UGL
s/n 49CF10093514 MAC 00F10490089.

I tried just by simply connecting it (USB) but it didn't do it for me. I've got drivers on a little CD Rom for Mac, Win and Linux. The 'read me-file seems beyond my knowledge to install it. Is it really that complicated to do the normally simple task of installing a driver?

I suspect, and hope, there is a simple way....!? Any advice appreciated.

Fair winds, MAgnus, currently in FrPol

Post subject: Re: driver install for wifi antenna

Your thingy looks like it's a knock off Alfa AWUS036xx that has a Realtek chip. At first blush it should work, but I'll look a little deeper and come back with some fun things to try.

...just curious, did you get this in Mexico?

In the meantime lets find out what you're plugging in....

Open a terminal (<ctrl><alt><t>); at the prompt enter:
Code:
lsusb
It will print out 6-8 lines of text.
Code:
moe@example:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 20f4:648b TRENDnet TEW-648UBM 802.11n 150Mbps Micro Wireless N Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS]
This tells us what seat each device has on the bus. The ID 20f4:648b tells us the Manufacturer; and after the colon: the product. So humans don't feel neglected it may also give the name of the manufacturer, the product and less frequently, a hint about what it does.

Cut'n'paste the output so we can see.

And while you're basking in the Kiwi sun, what are the names of the linux files on your little CD?

Hi Moe, thanks for the kind advice, I haven't had access to internet in a while, hence the late response.