The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76


O.k., deep breath,
What did I do?

Downloading the new Nx via Torrent file in a few steps. With my Macbook.
Unzipping the file also on OS 10.5.
Moving the file on my Kingston (good Quality) 16Gig USB Drive.
That time not being able to download the Iso files I just used the ones which came with the old ones. (I mean the Exe and Plob stuff you need for installation)
Installing Nx on my Toughbook CF18 running XP-
Installing NX on my Macbook, XP Partition.
No manually created persistency files.

I'll do the same Converter file on the Macbook now and compare.
So we get an idea whether it is Nx or the Pc's.
Then I'll try a reinstall and do again...

Makes Sense? :roll:


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
To clarify:
- it's the start up disc creator I used the old version of...

-I did not install Nx on the Macbook Xp Partition or on the Toughbook CF18 Xp,
I just used these to install Nx on the Kingston 16G Stick

Apologies for my wrong terminology.

Cheers,

Atmo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Check checksum

Check and repair filesystem integrity on a LiveCD...is a little harder because you need to have the filesystem unmounted to scan. The bad cluster check is what we're really looking for....the bad media.

The LiveCD is FAT32. The errors were in the ext2 filesystem which leads me to think it's the persistence file (A filesystem within a filesystem as it were....)

A cheat might be to recreate the persistence file and see if the error (ext2) erros pop up again in you log like the last time.

....but sorry, I've gotta run and will be back in a few days.

Good luck.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Now,

the same with our Macbook, launching Windows and using plop to start Nx.
(see attached file)
Additional, all of a sudden there is an error showing up. Airmail starts without having the icon for the Terminal window.
Haven't have that before. Also Airmail states that the disk is 90% full and I need to clean up.
Capacities: Bootcamp 1,54 Gig of 19,4 available.
Navigatrix: 8,9 Gig of 14,5 available

I've got a gut feeling that there is something wrong with the emulation of Airmail.
But I'm not skilled enough yet to judge that out of knowledge and understanding

Hope to get this working one day....
thanx,

Atmo


Attachments:
converters.txt [65.75 KiB]
Downloaded 274 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Now,

the same with our Macbook, launching Windows and using plop to start Nx.
(see attached file)
Additional, all of a sudden there is an error showing up. Airmail starts without having the icon for the Terminal window.
Haven't have that before. Also Airmail states that the disk is 90% full and I need to clean up.
Capacities: Bootcamp 1,54 Gig of 19,4 available.
Navigatrix: 8,9 Gig of 14,5 available

I've got a gut feeling that there is something wrong with the emulation of Airmail.
But I'm not skilled enough yet to judge that out of knowledge and understanding

Hope to get this working one day....
thanx,

Atmo


Attachments:
converters.txt [65.75 KiB]
Downloaded 282 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Ps: Moe, doing a checksum is something my abilities are to restricted for.

I had a look at file copier and couldn't understand it, also disk utility didn't give me a possibility for that. Couldn't find system profiler this time either.
But I put an ad out to the local community area here (Northern rivers NSW Australia)
to join a Linux workshop.

I am tempted to do a new installation of Nx and this time maybe use it only on the Toughbook. Would that make a difference?

On the other side, could it be better to leave it like it is till you guys had a look at the Data and compare to a new installation later?

I have no pressure anymore since we are not going bluewater cruising for the next two years.

Cheers,

Atmo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Ok, I'm not any further understanding what is going on, but we can work with what you have until we've a better grasp on the ftdi_so module that drives the USB/Serial converter.

Your other USB/Serial converter will do the trick since it calls up the old reliable pl2303 module. Really.

It wasn't working because...for reasons unknown to me, the subsystem that increment/decrement USB device naming isn't doing what we think it should...rotten machines just toy with us.

In your previous test you tried the FTDI converter; launched Airmail. /dev/ttyUSB0-->com3 ...it didn't work.

You tried the other converter. The device is incremented (/dev/ttyUSB1). Airmail is fired up and the comport script links /dev/ttyUSB1-->com4 as ttyUSB0 is com3. Airmail tells you, "Ain't nothing there"...because there isn't.

I learned a fun command:
Code:
udevadm monitor --udev
It gives you USB events for hours of late night excitement; looking something like this;
Quote:
wadda@mini:~$ udevadm monitor --udev
monitor will print the received events for:
UDEV - the event which udev sends out after rule processing

UDEV [797839.872841] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3 (usb)
UDEV [797839.882040] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0 (usb)
UDEV [797839.885343] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0 (usb-serial)
UDEV [797839.892200] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0/tty/ttyUSB0 (tty)
UDEV [797840.787432] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0/tty/ttyUSB0 (tty)
UDEV [797840.787722] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0 (usb-serial)
UDEV [797840.787967] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0 (usb)
UDEV [797840.793958] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3 (usb)
UDEV [797842.188454] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3 (usb)
UDEV [797842.193505] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0 (usb)
UDEV [797842.197728] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0 (usb-serial)
UDEV [797842.205251] add /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0/tty/ttyUSB0 (tty)
UDEV [797843.393577] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0/tty/ttyUSB0 (tty)
UDEV [797843.394915] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0/ttyUSB0 (usb-serial)
UDEV [797843.394960] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3/3-3:1.0 (usb)
UDEV [797843.402195] remove /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-3 (usb)
^Cwadda@mini:~$
<ctrl><c>to exit.

Try it again with your other converter only. We'll deal with the other issues and misbehaving module later....but remember your machine will increment but not decrement.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Hm, looks like nothing is working. No Checksum and no little Magic,

see attached file.
Thanx,

:roll: Atmo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Well, extension not allowed. I used Text edit in Nx5 so now I have to find a way to convert in something readable
Sorry


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
That should work... :D


Attachments:
pactor3.pdf [13.26 KiB]
Downloaded 271 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Sorry, the stick installation appears to have different permission than a hard drive installation.

Try:
Code:
sudo udevadm monitor --udev


The md5sum command needs the location of the file you want to check.

/home/nx/Downloads/navigatrix.iso

/media/wadda/c88c76af-ae9d-4432-a851-57ee750d1489/Documents\ and\ Settings/Administrator/Downloads/navigatrix.iso ('\' before any 'space')

...sorry for any confusion.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Moe,

don't be sorry, I really appreciate the time and energy you are putting into getting Nx work for everybody. It's merely on me to apologise for my very restricted knowledge about the Os.
I've learned so much already and how the shell it is working is getting less foggy.
Hopefully once I know how to get the system working I can pass that on to my fellow sailing friends here in Australia.
At the boat tonight I'll try the new magic spells..... :) :roll:

Cheers, thanx,

Atmo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Hi Moe,

after installing Nx successfully on the Cf-18 Hard drive I made some interesting observations.
Connecting a Bu353 U-blox GPS Mouse worked straight away, showing up in the dmesg file as dv acmo usb.
It works with Open CPN and GPS Panel but not with Airmail. Exactly the same issues like with Pactor. Port is occupied by Airmal (3) and or not availlable.
I'll make a copy of the Terminal copies.
Funny thing is all works on windows.
Even more funny is that I have a problem with the Gps on Mac Os. It shows up, like on Nx5, in the system USB. But in Networking it want's to install as a modem.
But that's Macintosh.
Same hardware on windows works on Cpn and Airmail and panel.
Same hardware on Nx works only on CPN and Panel.
That's why I'm halfway convinced now it is a Wine Comport Problem.
Why else would I have the same problem like with my converter?

Cheers,

Atmo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Atmo wrote:
It works with Open CPN and GPS Panel but not with Airmail. Exactly the same issues like with Pactor. Port is occupied by Airmal (3) and or not availlable


Airmail picks up the gps position that the system had within 15 minutes of the time Airmail was started.

This was a method to automagically provide current location in an application (Airmail) that wasn't designed to listen to gpsd. There is a way to change it to pick up realtime data; it's used to wire the GPS Panel and the Weather Router (QtVlm); but no one has taken the time to wire it up differently because unless you're moving at a high rate, or leave Airmail open for long periods, the position should be accurate enough for nearly all occasions.

If you're looking for a job, I'll give you a referral.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor
Site Admin

Joined: 05 Nov 2010, 01:00
Posts: 185
Just found a bug in the comport assignment of some navigatrix version... To fix it do the following:

sudo medit /usr/local/bin/airmail

and then change the line where it says "comports" to "comports -s"

Otherwise you may have trouble accessing the comports within airmail.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Thanks David,

that's great news.
Copied and pasted the Sudo line into terminal and hit enter. Terminal asked me for a password which I donT have. I never put one in.
Also I could not type anything into terminal. Only paste. No Keybord access to terminal.
I have a harddrive install now, maybe it's because of that. When I was still working from a stick I actually could use the keybord in terminal.
What do I have to set up?

Thanks,

Atmo


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Whoops,

well, when I open Terminal freshly I can type. Keybord access is only not working after I pasted the Sudo line you send me.
It is asking for a Password then which I couldn't type in then in the first place.
Funny bug...

Cheers


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor
Site Admin

Joined: 05 Nov 2010, 01:00
Posts: 185
When you installed to the harddrive you had to choose a username and at the same time a password. The password you entered there is the one which you need to enter now.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor

Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 12:46
Posts: 76
Thanx David,

the problem is, the moment I paste the Sudo line in it asks for a password. But I cant type into terminal after I entered the sudo line. So I can't even check through all my Passwords I usually use.
Catch22 again.
Short: It ask for Password but doesn't let you type one....

cheers


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Pactor
Site Admin

Joined: 05 Nov 2010, 01:00
Posts: 185
It only appears like you can not type. But in reality the password input does not show the typed letters for security reasons.
As soon as you enter the correct password and hit enter you will see again what you type. But, in case you forgot the password or maybe spelled it different (check upper/lower case) it will be difficult, but not impossible, to modify the file which needs to get modified.
I hope you can figure out the password.
Also, in a couple of days, there will be a new navigatrix.iso available which has this bug resolved as well.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Search for:

Credits © 2010 - 2024