The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.

Post subject: … send autopilot commands from OpenCPN

Hi,

I'm quite new to linux, and having a bit of a hard time getting my head around how it deals with serial ports. I have 2 serial-usb ports going to the computer, one from the radio for AIS and the other from my seatalk converter which gives gps/instruments and is also wired to output to the autopilot.

Can someone explain how I can get OpenCPN to output to the autopilot? The magical GPSD seems to be processing the gps/instruments/ais data nicely and makes it all available to OpenCPN. If GPSD is using the port going to my sea talk converter for incoming data, will I be able to set OpenCPN to output to the same port? If not, how do I disable GPSD (or even open it or configure it) and find out what the com port addresses are so I can manually add them as inputs/outputs in OpenCPN?

Also, as an aside, I've been playing around with an iPad to try to remote desktop into my navigatix netbook. I've managed to use VNC viewer on the iPad to connect to a session on navigatix, but haven't managed to actually share the same desktop. Anyone able to give me a dummies guide to doing this?

Thanks in advance!
Dave

Post subject: Re: … send autopilot commands from OpenCPN

Quote:
will I be able to set OpenCPN to output to the same port?
No. It's not because of gpsd either. Unless something has radically changed, your autopilot can only listen to one talker. If you had a machine without gpsd and fed it with a talker into OCPN, OCPN would have to pump out the data through another hole...or you could split feed your data before it enters the machine and feed the autopilot without OCPN in the middle.

You do not want to disable gpsd. This is the multiplexer you have inside to send the same data to multiple locations within the 'system' or to one, or more, hardware connectors to the 'outside' world.