The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.

Post subject: Permissions issue

NX gang,

Finally have my home network set up with multiple computers. It's just the way I want it now I think. Not too much blood and guts on the floor. BUT I need to set up directories in two data partitions from within NX and I am denied permissions. Changed my status to administrator in user info. No joy. Tried to copy and paste the directory in. No joy.

What am I missing? A lot actually since I am still a newbie. Always will be compared to the talented heavyweights here. I have researched some but the Unix stuff makes my head swim after about 20 minutes. If possible I would prefer an easy fix...advice...maybe even terminal entries if needed.

Hope you are all well and the weather is nice.

Jan (Growngfree)

Post subject: Re: Permissions issue

I'm sick, overworked and in the middle of a winter storm, just so you know.

But what you are looking for is to become root, I'm not exactly sure what this administrator settings are except becoming a member of a group.

Everything falls into three user based permission groups:

• owner - The Owner permissions apply only the owner of the file or directory, they will not impact the actions of other users.
  • group - The Group permissions apply only to the group that has been assigned to the file or directory, they will not effect the actions of other users.
  • world - The World permissions apply to all other users on the system, this is as the 'outside' world or another user on a multi-user system would see the file/directory.
You can see to which group you belong with
Code:
groups
Quote:
moe@len:~$ groups
moe adm dialout fax cdrom floppy tape sudo audio dip video plugdev fuse lpadmin netdev scanner nopasswdlogin sambashare debian-tor
moe@len:~$
I am, and most likely you are a member of those same/similar groups (except the 'moe' group. But there are other groups.

Take a look at group membership
Quote: