The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: open cpn version 4

Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 16:56
Posts: 62
New Open CPN 4.0.0 stable version has just been released with many new features like anchor watch etc and fixes. How do I...update to new version with minimal fuss?
Thks,
Ken


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Ken, are you camping out waiting for the hot release?

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:opencpn/opencpn
Code:
sudo apt-get update
Code:
sudo apt-get install opencpn
I got errors
Code:
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/opencpn-tcdata_3.3.2107-0~trusty1_all.deb
 /var/cache/apt/archives/opencpn-gshhs-crude_2.2.4-0~trusty2_all.deb
 /var/cache/apt/archives/opencpn-gshhs-low_2.2.4-0~trusty2_all.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
I don't know what they mean.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
How is the anchor watch different than previous versions?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 02 Jan 2015, 12:19
Posts: 4
To install the full package with documentation and background maps etc:
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:opencpn/opencpn

Code:
sudo apt-get update


Code:
sudo apt-get install opencpn opencpn-doc opencpn-tcdata opencpn-gshhs-low opencpn-doc opencpn-gshhs-crude opencpn-gshhs-intermediate opencpn-gshhs-high opencpn-gshhs-full


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Yep, petter, but, the last one is redundant.

Did you get errors?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 02 Jan 2015, 12:19
Posts: 4
Moe wrote:
Ken, are you camping out waiting for the hot release?

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:opencpn/opencpn
Code:
sudo apt-get update
Code:
sudo apt-get install opencpn
I got errors
Code:
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/opencpn-tcdata_3.3.2107-0~trusty1_all.deb
 /var/cache/apt/archives/opencpn-gshhs-crude_2.2.4-0~trusty2_all.deb
 /var/cache/apt/archives/opencpn-gshhs-low_2.2.4-0~trusty2_all.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
I don't know what they mean.


To fix the error, try:
Code:
$ sudo apt-get remove install-info

then:
Code:
sudo apt-get clean

Then:
Code:
sudo apt-get update

and then:
Code:
sudo apt-get install opencpn opencpn-doc opencpn-tcdata opencpn-gshhs-low opencpn-doc opencpn-gshhs-crude opencpn-gshhs-intermediate opencpn-gshhs-high opencpn-gshhs-full
to install th latest OpenCpn


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
As it turns out the new PPA provides package installation data that conflicts with the last, and your solution to remove the install information is correct. Everything was functional because the 'old' shoreline and tide data was still there.

But sudo apt-get install opencpn will suffice for the whole show.
Code:
moe@fission-chips:~$ sudo apt-get install opencpn
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  opencpn-doc opencpn-gshhs-crude opencpn-gshhs-full opencpn-gshhs-high
  opencpn-gshhs-intermediate opencpn-gshhs-low opencpn-tcdata
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  opencpn opencpn-doc opencpn-gshhs-crude opencpn-gshhs-full
  opencpn-gshhs-high opencpn-gshhs-intermediate opencpn-gshhs-low
  opencpn-tcdata
0 to upgrade, 8 to newly install, 0 to remove and 9 not to upgrade.
Need to get 0 B/90.7 MB of archives.
After this operation, 299 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n]
But, knock yourself out. I just wouldn't try this on a 4GB stick.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 16:56
Posts: 62
Hi Moe,

Greetings for the new year...you are right on reading more carefully don't think there is a difference, just thought new stable versions is better??
I am always not sure when you upgrade anything, if it is better to uninstall the old one completely and install the new version fresh rather than using sudo apt-get upgrade and install.
Anyway talking about upgrade, my computer is freezing often up when I open too many tabs (either in firefox or chrome), this is happening more often. i did no have this issue with Nav 0.4 before, frustrating to the point that I am thinking of downgrading back to Nav 0.4. I suppose "sudo apt-get downgrade" will not work to revert back to Nav 0.4!


Cheers,
Ken


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Happy New Year, Ken. I agree, stable is good. I like stable.

OCPN 4 is good, I just don't know if it warrants a 4.0.0 (major release increment). I don't follow it that closely. But, like with Firefox, the proliferation of addons can get carried away, and I've gotta try them all.

Speaking of which, I've been having similar problems with Firefox. But the way I abuse everything, sometimes it's hard to tell when the problem has been introduced, or just an ID10t error from something I had done previously.

Right now I'm blaming Firefox, (because I noticed it after a FF upgrade), but I can't say for certain. I also run a very large java application frequently, so I really am guessing.

Sometimes problems have an unexpected source.

For example, two years ago I set the router at home to be without a password. I have a short list of MAC addresses that are on the AllowList. Only those devices have wifi access. It's works.

Someone gave me a laptop last July/August. I put the new Navigatrix on it.

I could not keep a wifi connection. It would drop in 1-5 minutes. I finally gave up and plugged in a cable.

Over the subsequent months when I'd get fed up at being tethered, I would poke a stick at the problem and come up confused. I was learning something, but learning nothing to solve it. Someone is going to have the same wifi problem. Navigatrix/T410 wifi cuts out. I'm worried there's a problem in Navigatrix, or a module..bad design on the T410. It's irritating, limiting, I need to figure this out.

Long story short of chasing my tail, last week I found it was the router dropping the connection. I put a password on the router and the problem went away.

...go figure.

I still don't know the cause, but I'll keep the password, and have another G and T.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 10:13
Posts: 17
Moe wrote:
......
OCPN 4 is good, I just don't know if it warrants a 4.0.0 (major release increment). I don't follow it that closely. But, like with Firefox, the proliferation of addons can get carried away, and I've gotta try them all.
.......


The most important change in OpenCPN 4.0.0 for Navigatirix is full support for OpenGL.
It can give a huge performance improvement for low power systems with OpenGL support.

There are now mature plugins for RADAR overlays (Garmin, and Navico).

There is now support for ARM platforms as well; Sure would be great to have a version of Navigatrix geared toward one of the inexpensive ARM boards like a CubieTruck.

Cheers,
JM.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Thanks, for that info. Education is good. It makes more sense now.

The OpenCPN folk have put in a lot of work and it beats the alternatives.

Do you think Cubie has the grunt to run it?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 10:13
Posts: 17
Moe wrote:
Thanks, for that info. Education is good. It makes more sense now.

The OpenCPN folk have put in a lot of work and it beats the alternatives.

Do you think Cubie has the grunt to run it?


Yes !

It runs well on my CubieTruck.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 16:56
Posts: 62
Generally with sw upgrade for an improvement in performance, it usually means a corresponding hw upgrade (more memory, faster cpu etc, just look at "windows"). If a sw upgrade can improve performance without any hw changes, then this is real improvement!! The developers are truely making their product better and more efficient, and this is rare.

Ken


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 10:13
Posts: 17
kenkoknz wrote:
Generally with sw upgrade for an improvement in performance, it usually means a corresponding hw upgrade (more memory, faster cpu etc, just look at "windows"). If a sw upgrade can improve performance without any hw changes, then this is real improvement!! The developers are truely making their product better and more efficient, and this is rare.

Ken


If your existing hardware has OpenGL support, there can be a huge improvement in performance.

OpenCPN 4.0.0 uses OpenGL to access your computers hardware video acceleration.

For raster charts (RNC) the charts can also be pre-processed into a compressed format suitable for your video hardware. This is a one time process that takes many hours (depending on number of charts). Once compressed the charts will load at least 10* faster.

Cheers,
JM.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 16:56
Posts: 62
Wow, big improvement, next question: how do I know my hw supports OpenGL? is there a cmd i cam type in the console? Learning new things everyday.

Thks,
Ken


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Try:
Code:
glxinfo | grep render
or more
Code:
glxinfo | egrep -i "opengl|render"
or even more
Code:
glxinfo
or luicrously more
Code:
glxinfo -v


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 10:13
Posts: 17
Most systems will support OpenGL.

There are some buggy drivers, but the developers of OpenCPN have made accomodations for many of them during beta testing of 4.0.0.

Cheers,
JM.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 10:13
Posts: 17
Moe wrote:
Thanks, for that info. Education is good. It makes more sense now.

The OpenCPN folk have put in a lot of work and it beats the alternatives.

Do you think Cubie has the grunt to run it?


Here is a video that illustrates the performance of OpenCPNV4.00 on a CubieTruck running Linux.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2IV_Zq1bU-A

Better than my Atom based netbook.

Cheers,
JM.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 21 May 2013, 14:53
Posts: 93
For me, glxinfo returns the following:
direct rendering: Yes
GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.4, 128 bits)
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 10.1.3
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL extensions:
GL_MESA_ycbcr_texture, GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_conditional_render

But when I turn OpenGL on, it actually slows down the OpenCPN. Is it because of memory problems? Or the Intel Atom is too small for the extra work?

Adrian


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: open cpn version 4

Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 10:13
Posts: 17
svattila wrote:
For me, glxinfo returns the following:
direct rendering: Yes
GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.4, 128 bits)
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 10.1.3
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL extensions:
GL_MESA_ycbcr_texture, GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_conditional_render

But when I turn OpenGL on, it actually slows down the OpenCPN. Is it because of memory problems? Or the Intel Atom is too small for the extra work?

Adrian


Are you using OpenCPN v4.00 ? Previous versions did not support OpenGL very well.

The OpenCPN log file would better tell how your video hardware is supported.

If you have Raster charts (RNC) and you have enabled texture compression caching each chart will be compressed into a format suitable for your video hardware as it is encountered, this will slow things down a lot until you have viewed all the charts you normally use; You can force all the charts to be compressed at once by pressing the "rebuild texture cache" button in OpenGL options THIS MAY TAKE HOURS TO COMPLETE depending on the number of charts you have installed and the speed of you machine. But once complete the difference is huge.

Cheers,
JM.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Search for:
cron

Credits © 2010 - 2024