The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.

Post subject: ShipModul MiniPlex-2Wi

Hello Navigatrix gurus! Linux noob here... I have a MiniPlex-2Wi mux. I want to use it with OpenCpn and the other apps on Navigatrix 0.5 (August 2014) which I installed yesterday. This device has a USB connection as well as WiFi. I am focused on the USB connection at present. No luck yet. May I ask for your help, please?

I have tried following the other ShipModul thread in this forum, but either did not understand it all, did not do it right, or it did not work. I have also tried other Ubuntu-based threads. I could either not find, or did not understand, a concise statement of what all to do and where to do it all.

I wrote to ShipModul and Martin Poenot replied promptly, saying, "We use an FTDI chip and use a custom PID of 0xFD4A for the MiniPlex-2Wi. The FTDI driver is already compiled into the kernel. The only thing yo need to do is add the following line to /etc/modules:
ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=0xfd4a

The FTDI chip in the MiniPlex talks to our processor at 115200 baud so in your application you need to set the baud rate to 115200 as well." (I was using Mint 17.1 when I asked, so he may be referring to that kernel...)

I added the line to /etc/modules and rebooted. Nothing changed.

IF I could get it to show up as a serial device like /dev/ttyUSB1 then I feel like I could get the connection going in OpenCpn. But I'm still at the shallow end of the pool with regard to 'drivers', modules, and devices in Linux.

Once it is working, I promise to come back and post a step-by-step, 'idiot's guide' to what should be done after a clean install of the present version of Navigatrix.

Looking forward to your assistance. Thanks in advance! ;)

Ben (diver864)

Post subject: Re: ShipModul MiniPlex-2Wi

diver864 wrote: