The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.

Post subject: Radar plugin OpenCPN troubles

Many thanks for help MOE. OpenCPN 4.0 running fine here now.

Next task is installing radar plugin for Navico radar on OpenCPN.

The appropriate Linux packet is found here:
http://opencpn-navico-radar-plugin.github.io/

I am a total newbie to Linux... no idea which version to use
or how to download and install it.. can you help me please ?

Geir @ Lista, Norway

Post subject: Radar plugin OpenCPN troubles

la5zo wrote:
Next task is installing radar plugin for Navico radar on OpenCPN.

The appropriate Linux packet is found here:
http://opencpn-navico-radar-plugin.github.io/

I am a total newbie to Linux... no idea which version to use
or how to download and install it.. can you help me please ?
You would be looking for a .deb file in the x86 family.

Navigatrix uses the debian package system apt, and run a 32 bit kernel (x86, also referenced as i386, i486, or i686)

The file you want is

http://opencpn-navico-radar-plugin.github.io/br24radar_pi_1.1-1_i386.deb

Download it. It is installed
Code:
sudo gdebi Downloads/br24radar_pi_1.1-1_i386.deb
and follow the prompts.

Post subject: Re: update opencpn

la5zo wrote:
Many thanks Moe, radar plugin installed.

Geir

Moe. I finally have a 3G radar installed onboard. I get a Perfect radar Picture on my W8 LapTop using OCPN 4.0 and ver 1.1 of the radar plugin.

When I connect GPS/HDG and IP cable to the Navigatrix PC all is fine but the PC can`t find the radar. Is there an IP port issue blocking UDP packets ? Firewall is off...
and the Ethernet port is set to a manual IP4 adress.

Any idea to what could be wrong ?

Geir
S/Y Ocean Viking, Norway

I don't understand some of the alphabet soup...well all of it, except GPS.

What are 3G, HDG and IP, and how are they related to the radar?

How are you connecting the radar?