Navigatrix.net - A Voyager's Companion http://navigatrix.net/ |
|
Updating OpenCPN and changing MAC address http://navigatrix.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=866 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | volare [ 04 Feb 2016, 12:25 ] |
Post subject: | Updating OpenCPN and changing MAC address |
Has anybody updated OpenCPN on their Navigatrix install to 4.2 yet? I've got a notebook running Windows 10 and I'm thinking about blowing it out and putting Ubuntu/Navigatrix on it since I want to start weening myself off Microsoft. Between them forcing updates, their ads and spyware in a low bandwidth environment, and lastly I needed to change my mac address due to problems with a wifi at a marina and it wasn't allowed--I'm done. Anyhow, not wanting to bash Microsoft, but I don't want to load it up from my ISO if it's about to get revved. |
Author: | Moe [ 04 Feb 2016, 20:13 ] |
Post subject: | Updating OpenCPN and changing MAC address |
If you look what is available in the repository, you will find it current. Attachment: Selection_007.png [ 120.04 KiB | Viewed 20351 times ] Attachment: Selection_008.png [ 34.71 KiB | Viewed 20351 times ] Changing the MAC address is relatively easy, for example Code: sudo macchanger -A wlan0 will assign a new MAC address to your wlan0 interface.The complication is you must know the name of your interface, as not all wifi is wlan0. From the terminal (<ctrl><alt><t>) while your wifi is live Code: ifconfig it will spit back a bunch of stuffCode: netty@netty:~$ ifconfig As you see I'm using the ethernet connection eth0, and my wifi is wlan0, but the process is the same for all MAC gizmos with the proper name.eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:5a:34:cc:3d:e6 inet addr:192.168.0.4 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: fe80::725a:b6ff:fedd:1df2/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:13707233 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:17091609 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:29 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:3446040395 (3.4 GB) TX bytes:3942462189 (3.9 GB) lo Link encap:Local Loopback inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0 inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1 RX packets:200454 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:200454 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 RX bytes:49694490 (49.6 MB) TX bytes:49694490 (49.6 MB) wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 78:e4:22:3d:4f:3d UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B) The next thing is to shut down the interface to change numbers. Code: sudo ifconfig wlan0 down Now you can change it.Code: sudo macchanger -A wlan0 then bring the interface back online.Code: sudo ifconfig wlan0 up You could also install the GUI for thisCode: sudo apt-get macchanger-gtk which is nice, but it's not much easier.The biggest problem is the current version of macchanger introduced a bug which that does not allow full 'random' MAC address assignment, but you should be able to live with that. Code: netty@netty:~$ sudo macchanger -A wlan0 If you want other options consult the manual[sudo] password for netty: Current MAC: 78:e4:00:4c:2c:39 (Hon Hai Precision Ind. Co.,Ltd.) Permanent MAC: 78:e4:00:4c:2c:39 (Hon Hai Precision Ind. Co.,Ltd.) [ERROR] Could not change MAC: interface up or insufficient permissions: Device or resource busy netty@netty:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 down netty@netty:~$ sudo macchanger -A wlan0 Current MAC: 78:e4:00:4c:2c:39 (Hon Hai Precision Ind. Co.,Ltd.) Permanent MAC: 78:e4:00:4c:2c:39 (Hon Hai Precision Ind. Co.,Ltd.) New MAC: ec:2c:49:4c:2c:39 (University of Tokyo) netty@netty:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up netty@netty:~$ Code: man macchanger Good luck.
|
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC - 5 hours |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |