The Navigatrix has been updated. The new website can be found at navigatrix.net.




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GPS not working

Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 18:59
Posts: 16
On start up I see GPS data in the satellite window, but when I start OpenCPN I do not get GPS data in the program and the GPS date in the Satellite window stops. Any ideas?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Did you change any of the setting in OpenCPN?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 18:59
Posts: 16
No.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Ok, help me out. Update anything?
Did it ever work?
What tells you it stopped working?
Does it only stop when you start OpenCPN?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 18:59
Posts: 16
Have just reloaded operating system and still the GPS is till not working. The boat is hewn being in Panama.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 18:59
Posts: 16
I did a list on my USB ports and can see thru dangle it is putting out data to. Any ideas on how to get opencpn to see it?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
You are the eyes of anyone who wants to help.

I would need more specific information.

What have you done (specifically)?

What was the machine's verbatim response?

What is the gps make/model?

The behaviour you're describing is extremely odd. In order to resolve this you must be extremely specific.

Screenshots/images can provide that specificity. OR if you need to use another language to achieve this, use that language.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 18:59
Posts: 16
Thanks fir the help. I fixed it by reinstalling the system and then setting up a new connections for the GPS.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 04 Nov 2010, 20:51
Posts: 1062
Quote:
setting up a new connections for the GPS
should not actually work, (again, it depends what you mean by that) as the gpsd is running in the background and will want control of the gps so it can 'multiplex' the gps data to the system and other applications that want/need it.

...but go for it. It wouldn't be the first time I was wrong. I'm glad it's working.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS not working

Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 18:59
Posts: 16
I have GPS working in XGPS on AMC1 but not in Ooen CPN.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Search for:
cron

Credits © 2010 - 2022